There are elections on several levels in Canada, including federal, provincial, First Nation and Métis, municipal, and school board.

Elections Saskatchewan is responsible for only provincial general elections and other electoral events such as by-elections, referenda, and plebiscites.

In Saskatchewan, an election is called when the Lieutenant Governor dissolves the legislature by dropping “the writ”, formally called the writ of election, usually at the Premier’s request.

In our “First Past the Post” system each eligible Saskatchewan voter is allowed to cast one vote for one of the candidates in their constituency.

Saskatchewan is divided into 61 constituencies.

In each constituency candidates vie to be elected and the candidate with the most votes becomes elected. In the province as a whole, the party with the most candidates elected usually becomes the government and the leader of that party becomes the Premier.